Skip to content
CSDE News & Events

Nancy C.M. Hartsock Prize for Best Graduate Paper in Feminist Theory

Posted: 4/18/2017 (Funding)

The purpose of this prize is to honor the intellectual legacy of Professor Emerita Nancy C.M. Hartsock by providing recognition for emerging scholars at the University of Washington, Seattle, whose contributions to feminist theory are excellent and noteworthy.

Graduate students from any department or school in the College of Arts and Sciences are eligible to submit their papers for consideration. The recipient of this prize will receive an award of $500.

Application Criteria, Materials, and Procedures:

  • Any paper written by a graduate student during AY 2015-2016 and AY 2016-2017 is eligible for consideration. Eligible papers may include (but are not limited to): seminar papers, conference papers, Master’s theses (revised to the length of a typical book chapter or journal article), or papers written for possible publication.
  • Papers should be formatted in 12 point font, with double spacing.
  • The cover page of the paper should indicate the specific venue or purpose for which the paper was written (e.g., specific seminar, conference, journal, requirement for certification or advancement through a graduate program), and the date on which it was completed and/or submitted. It should also include the title of the paper and the name of the author.
  • Complete applications should contain the following: 1) A one-page cover letter explaining the significance of the paper for feminist theoretical inquiry; 2) a CV; 3) an unofficial copy of your UW transcript; 4) the paper; 5) a one-page letter of endorsement from a member of the graduate faculty who is familiar with your scholarship. The faculty letter of endorsement may be e-mailed separately to

Applications are due by Friday, May 12, 5:00 p.m. Please send your application as a single PDF file to The prize recipient will be announced by Friday, June 2.

The members of this year’s selection committee are:

  • Christine Di Stefano, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Priti Ramamurthy, Professor and Chair, Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
  • Chandan Reddy, Associate Professor, Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies; Comparative History of Ideas
  • Alys Weinbaum, Associate Professor, English

Read Full Article

Deadline: 05/12/2017